2016’s Event

Review of 2016′s Event


“Sport is more than the pursuit of physical sensations: it is also being at one with the most beautiful landscapes, the most legendary places…”


The Peak to Powderkeg 2016 took place on Saturday 8th October! Thank you to everyone who made the event a huge success, it was an honour to host another record field of athletes despite the challenging weather and snow conditions that kept us guessing up to the final morning!

Thanks to our local and regional athletes for choosing to support our event, to our sponsors Taupo Bungy, TCB, PLANKS and Peppa Tree Design, Print & Sign. We also thank Ruapehu Alpine Lifts and The Powderhorn Chateau for hosting the event along with the various agencies and communities who live, and work in and around the course, for their continued support.

Sadly we didn’t get a full course in, running from the base of the High Noon Express, but Mother Nature did make sure we transitioned at base and eliminated a potential trail run.

A massive congratulations to George Milne who had a spectacular performance, improving on 2015’s second place to take the 2016 Men’s Individual Peak to Powderkeg title! George Kool had a great performance, just 66 seconds behind George. 3rd place went to Richard Robb.

Annabel Dekker took a leaf out of George’s book and also improved on her 2015 third place to take 1st in the Womens’ Individual category, leading Kirin Fahey by a little over 1 minute, and Paige Patterson took 3rd place.

Congratulations to the teams – The Flash came in 1st, just ahead of Fire Breathing Rubber Duckies, and Aardvark took out 3rd.

Complete changes in this year’s Youth Section with Lockie Fay taking the honours, ahead of Jay Sherlock and Poppy Mitchell.

Badass Monster Truckers remain the undisputed Youth Team.

We look forward to seeing you all next year and to make the event even bigger and better for you all.

Download the Official 2016 results here: Official 2016 Results